Bookmark and Share

Primary Accreditation

The ANCC Accreditation Program identifies organizations worldwide that demonstrate excellence in continuing nursing education (CNE). Accredited organizations use evidenced-based ANCC criteria to plan, implement and evaluate the highest quality CNE activities. As a result, health ministries, nursing organizations, employers, and continuing education enterprises rely on ANCC accreditation to call forth advanced nursing practice and improved outcomes. Nurses can choose the highest caliber of education to meet certification or licensure requirements. Learn about benefits for your organization.

Providers are organizations in any country that develop CNE activities using ANCC criteria.
Approvers are organizations in the US that approve CNE providers for compliance with ANCC criteria.

Applicants must pass a systematic, comprehensive peer review and meet standards outlined in both the ANCC Primary Accreditation PROVIDER Application Manual and/or ANCC Primary Accreditation APPROVER Application Manual. The Commission on Accreditation makes the final decision.

Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Continuing Education™
National and international providers of interprofessional health care education can use a single application process to qualify for simultaneous accreditation by:

  • ANCC
  • ACCME, Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education
  • ACPE, Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

Jointly accredited providers may offer continuing education for the entire health care team.
Learn about Joint Accreditation™

Credential Marks
Organizations and courses accredited by ANCC gain the advantage of using the official logos shown below in their marketing and promotion. The Accredited Provider, Accredited Approver and Nursing Skills Competency Program certification marks are legally trademarked symbols and must be used in accordance with Accreditation Toolkit & Logo Guidelines.